obituary header
Welcome to the memorial page for

Horace Julian Bond

January 14, 1940 ~ August 15, 2015 (age 75)
The Family and Friends of Julian Bond are grateful for the outpouring of love and support during this time.  
Throughout his life Julian Bond was a leader in the movements for civil rights, economic justice, and peace. For those who wish to honor Julian Bond's legacy:
1. Please consider making a donation to the University of Virginia College and Graduate School of Arts and Science "Julian Bond Professorship of Civil Rights and Social Justice." Your donation will honor his legacy and advance teaching and scholarship of the civil rights era for future generations of students. Donations can be made online at www.giving.virgina.edu/julianbond
2.  On Saturday August 22, friends of Julian Bond will gather at bodies of water across the nation to reflect on his legacy and release flowers in his honor.  We encourage those who wish to honor his legacy to organize a flower release in your community.   Flower releases will take place across the nation at 3pm EST/2pm CST/12pm PST.
Participants are encouraged to share photos of their flower release events and use the hashtag #HonorJulianBond
Please share widely.
Thank you,
Friends of Julian Bond

Expressions of sympathy may be viewed or submitted online at www.McLaughlinMortuary.com

 Service Information

A service summary is not available


© 2019 McLaughlin Mortuary. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service